The CAFTCAD Awards: The First Ever Canada-Wide Costume Arts and Design Awards, to be held in Toronto in 2019

Alex Kavanagh, President of The Canadian Alliance of Film & Television Costume Arts & Design (CAFTCAD) announced today the inaugural Costume Design and Arts Awards ceremony. Joanna Syrokomla, past president of CAFTCAD, will be the Chairman of the event. The CAFTCAD Awards will take place in Toronto in late winter, 2019.

The mandate of the CAFTCAD Awards will be to promote and celebrate Canadian Costume Arts and Design and to recognize the breadth of talent, the scope of contemporary, period or fantasy elements, differing media platforms, running lengths and budgets that exist within Canadian film and media costume design and arts.

“A ceremony which honours the excellence in design achievements of Canadian costumers and artisans is long overdue. Their contribution to the evolution of the Canadian film and television industry cannot be underestimated and recognizing these immense talents with a proper event that allows for nation-wide eligibility is something I am very proud to be spearheading,” said Event Chair, Joanna Syrokomla.

Costume designers and artisans who are either Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada and have worked on projects (feature film, short film, television, music videos, web series, commercials) which have been produced within Canada (costumes must have been primarily built/created in Canada) will be eligible. The eligibility period for the 2019 CAFTCAD Awards is January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 for projects that have been released theatrically, online, on streaming services, on television/cable, or participated in accredited film festivals. 

The final list of prize categories is still in development, but will include: Film: Contemporary, Film: Period, Film: Sci-Fi/Fantasy, TV: Contemporary, TV: Period, TV: Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Original Web Series, Commercials, Music Videos and Short Films.

Media contact: Cynthia Amsden Roundstone Communications,, 416.910.7740

Lynsey Clark